Risk Management for Outdoor Programs, Online/Virtual Training

Training Description

Risk Management for Outdoor Programs
Online Training Course for Outdoor Professionals
February 3-24, 2021

Dates
January 3-24, 2021

The course is a combination of four real-time video-conference sessions, each one hour long, spaced one week part, and independent work periods between live sessions.

Four live online sessions:
    Wednesday, February 3
    Wednesday, February 10
    Wednesday, February 17
    Wednesday, February 24

Each session is one hour long.

The course is divided into two separate cohorts, which meet at different times.
The timing of one cohort is designed to be convenient for participants from the Americas/Europe region.
The timing of the other cohort is designed to be convenient for participants from the Asia-Pacific (APAC) region, including the west coast of the Americas.

Participants choose one of the two cohorts to join, based on which set of live sessions is most convenient for their time zone.

Live session schedule (AM-EU, timed for Americas & Europe)

  • 8 – 9 am Los Angeles (UTC-8)
  • 11 am – noon New York (UTC-5)
  • 4 – 5 pm London (UTC+0)
  • 9:30 – 10:30 pm India (UTC+5.30)
  • 12 midnight – 1 am Singapore/Beijing (UTC+8) (Thursday, the day following)
  • 2 – 3 am Sydney AU (UTC+10) (Thursday, the day following)

Live session schedule (APAC, timed for Asia-Pacific including west coast Americas)

  • 7 – 8 pm Los Angeles (UTC-8) (Tuesday, one day earlier)
  • 10 – 11 pm New York (UTC-5) (Tuesday, one day earlier)
  • 3 – 4 am London (UTC+0)
  • 8:30 – 9:30 am India (UTC+5.30)
  • 11 am – noon Singapore/Beijing (UTC+8)
  • 1 pm – 2 pm Sydney AU (UTC+10)

Participants enroll in either the AM-EU or APAC cohort, and take part in all live sessions and group activities with their cohort. When enrolling, please make sure that you select the cohort most suitable for your personal schedule (Americas/Europe or APAC).

Independent individual and group work occurs between live sessions.

Outcomes
Gain critical knowledge of best practices in outdoor program risk management
Learn procedures, systems and plans essential to meeting key outdoor safety standards
Understand how to apply successful risk management strategies to adventure programs, experiential education, wilderness expeditions, and outdoor trips

Valuable for
Program Coordinators/Managers, Risk Management officers, Risk Management/Safety Committee members, members of Boards of Directors, executive leadership.

​Course Format
The course is composed of four live video-conference sessions and three independent work periods:

  1. Live sessions. Four live, video-conference sessions, one hour long, occurring the same day and time each week, for four consecutive weeks.  These include structured real-time small-group and large-group discussions and participant project presentations.
  2.  Independent work. Between live video-conferences, there are three week-long independent work periods for individual and remote small-group activity. This work includes:
  • ​Review of pre-recorded slide presentations with presenter video
  • Completion of readings
  • Participation in online discussion forums
  • Participation in interactive video-based decision-making activities
  • Completion of writing assignments (including writing risk management plan outline and strategic improvement plan content)
  • Peer review of select classmate writing content
  • Completion of organizational self-assessment of risk management
  • Completion of online worksheets
  • Participation in online risk decision-making role-playing scenario
  • Structured analysis of case-study examples
  • Completion of quizzes and final exam

Independent work is anticipated to take a minimum of 7-12 hours per week.

Trainer/Facilitator
Jeff Baierlein, Director, Viristar; past Executive Director at Outward Bound USA

​Language
English

Cost
USD $259 individual enrollment.
USD $225 per person for groups of 5 or more.
Course fee includes four live sessions, materials for independent work sessions, lifetime access to an electronic, online-based copy of the course textbook Risk Management for Outdoor Programs: A Guide to Safety in Outdoor Education, Recreation and Adventure, and certification.

Syllabus
Live Session 1
Welcome, Orientation, Introductory Concepts in Risk Management

Independent Work 1
General Concepts in Risk Management
Approaches to Risk Management
Standards
Laws

Risk Domains
Organizational Culture
Activities and Program Areas
Staff
Equipment
Participants
Subcontractors
Transportation
Business Administration       

Live Session 2
Facilitated Discussion
Participant Presentations: Self-Evaluation of Risk Management in Risk Management Domains

Independent Work 2
Risk Management Instruments
Risk Transfer
Incident Management
Incident Reporting
Incident Reviews
Risk Management Committee
Medical Screening
Risk Management Reviews
Media Relations
Documentation
Accreditation
Systems Thinking

Special Topic: COVID-19 Management

Live Session 3
Facilitated Discussion
Participant Presentations: Self-Evaluation of Risk Management with Risk Management Instruments and COVID-19
Risk Decisions Role Play: Introduction

Independent Work 3
Synthesis & Application
Risk Management Plan Development
Strategic Improvement Plan for Your Organization
Risk Decisions Role Play: Preparation

Final Exam

Live Session 4
Facilitated Discussion
Participant Presentation: Strategic Improvement Plan for Your Organization
Risk Decisions Role Play

Conclusion & Certificates

Download a PDF version of the syllabus here

Textbook
The course textbook is Risk Management for Outdoor Programs: A Guide to Safety in Outdoor Education, Recreation and Adventure (viristar.com/book). This 218-page text is provided to each student in electronic online-based format.

Certification
Participants take four short quizzes throughout the course and a final written exam. Individuals who fully participate in learning activities and successfully complete the final exam receive a certificate from Viristar valid for three years.

​Previous Participants Say:
“Viristar delivered a high quality training and I would recommend it to any outdoor program.”  Si Dilks, ChinaClimb
“Extremely useful, important and informative course…very enjoyable and worthwhile.” Kelvin Fawcett, Nord Anglia International School
“Great insight into risk management—took a lot away to implement back at my workplace. Very well run.  Great course!” Liam Warren, Harrow International School

Registration: https://www.viristar.com/risk-mgmt-course-online-2021-02

 

Certification Offered: 
Certification Duration: 
3 Years

Registration

Registration: 

Register at https://www.viristar.com/risk-mgmt-course-online-2021-02
Cost:
USD $259 individual enrollment.
USD $225 per person for groups of 5 or more.

Fee: 
$259
Contact Person: 
Jeff Baierlein
Phone: 
+1 206 473 8050
Training Provider: 
Viristar
Training Type: 
Training Dates: 
Wednesday, February 3, 2021 to Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Training Location

Address: 
United States

Jobs from this Company

There are no other current Job Postings from this Company.

Search for more Jobs

Trainings by this Company

Displaying 1 - 4 of 4