Learn what's happening

Learn how to Contribute
National Outdoor Book Award


News Date: June 3, 2024
News Source: National Outdoor Book Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 National Outdoor Book Awards. The program, which is in its 28th year, recognizes the work of outstanding writers and publishers of outdoor books.

Books may be nominated for awards in one of several categories including: History/Biography, Outdoor Literature, Outdoor Adventure Guides, Nature Guides, Children’s Books, Design/Artistic Merit, Nature and the Environment, Natural History Literature, Outdoor Classics, and Journeys.  Additionally, a special award, the Outdoor Classic Award, is given annually to books which over a period of time have proven to be exceptionally valuable works in the outdoor field.

To be eligible for the 2024 National Outdoor Book Awards, nominated books must have been released (date of first shipment of books) after June 1, 2023 and before September 1, 2024.  Books nominated for the Classic Award must have been copyrighted prior to 2012 and still be in print.

Information on eligibility requirements and entry forms are available at the National Outdoor Book Awards web site (http://www.noba-web.org).

The deadline for entries is August 22, 2024.

The Backpacker's Field Manual book cover

The best seller used by outdoor programs across the country as a resource and textbook. 

Available in paperback, E-book, and now as an Audiobook at Amazon.com